2023 Big East Baseball Championship

What to Know About The BIG EAST Baseball Championship 2023

What to Know About The BIG EAST Baseball Championship 2023

What to know about the 2023 BIG EAST Baseball Championship and a list of top players and past winners who participated in the BIG EAST Baseball Tournament.

May 23, 2023 by Martina Gil
What to Know About The BIG EAST Baseball Championship 2023

The 2023 college baseball season is approaching it's end with the the start of the BIG EAST Baseball Championship this week.  

The BIG EAST Conference hosts an annual tournament of the top four teams from the regular season. This year, the UConn Huskies, the defending champions, enter as the No. 1 seed and will play in Game 1. 

They will be playing against No. 4 seed Georgetown this Wednesday at 2:30 p.m. ET. 

Game two features No. 3 seed Xavier against No. 4 seed Seton Hall. This week's game schedule will be streaming on FloBaseball.

How To Watch BIG EAST Baseball Tournament 2023 On FloBaseball

Subscribe to FloBaseball for Access to the 2023 BIG EAST Baseball Championships 

How Long Has The BIG EAST Baseball Championship Been Around?

The BIG EAST Conference was founded in 1979 as an athletic conference focused on basketball tournaments for college and university teams. 

The first baseball championship featured in the conference occurred in 1985 between St. John's and Seton Hall. St. John's University won the game earning them the title as first-ever BIG EAST Baseball Champions. 

Who Are The 10 Best BIG EAST Baseball Players Ever?

While it's challenging to definitively rank the top 10 Big East baseball players ever—here are 10 players (in no particular order) who have left a significant impact on the conference:

Craig Biggio (Seton Hall): An MLB Hall of Fame player for the Houston Astros, Biggio played college baseball at Seton Hall. 

Mo Vaughn (Seton Hall): Vaughn, known as "The Hit Dog," played for Seton Hall before embarking on a successful MLB career, former MVP and multi-time all-star with notable stops with the Boston Red Sox and New York Mets. 

Anthony Kay (UConn): Anthony Kay, a talented left-handed pitcher, made his mark at the University of Connecticut. In the Big East tournament, Kay's dominant performances on the mound showcased his ability to control the game and deliver under pressure. 

Carl Pavano (St. John's): Pavano had an excellent college career at St. John's and went on to have a successful MLB career as a pitcher, playing for several teams including the Montreal Expos, Florida Marlins, and New York Yankees.

John Franco (St. John's): Franco, a left-handed relief pitcher, had a remarkable career at St. John's. His dominance on the mound in the Big East tournament showcased his ability to shut down opposing teams. 

Scott Barnes (St. John's): Barnes had an impressive collegiate career at St. John's. He was a two-time Big East Pitcher of the Year and earned All-American recognition. Barnes later played in the MLB, primarily with Cleveland and the Texas Rangers.

George Springer (UConn):  Springer had a remarkable career at UConn, showcasing his incredible talent. He was a dynamic player, known for his power, speed, and exceptional defensive skills in the outfield. He went on, just like Biggio, to be an All-Star for the Houston Astros. 

Josh Harrison (Cincinnati): Harrison had an impressive college career at Cincinnati and went on to play in the MLB for the Pittsburgh Pirates and other teams. He earned All-Star honors and was known for his versatility on the field.

John Valentin (Seton Hall): Valentin had a standout career at Seton Hall and went on to play in the MLB, primarily with the Boston Red Sox. He was known for his versatility, playing multiple positions throughout his career.

Craig Hansen (St. John's): Hansen was a dominant closer during his time at St. John's. He earned multiple All-American honors and was known for his powerful fastball and ability to rack up strikeouts. Hansen went on to have a brief MLB career with the Boston Red Sox and Pittsburgh Pirates.

These players left an indelible mark on Big East baseball, showcasing their exceptional skills, leadership, and contributions to the game. Their success in college laid the foundation for remarkable careers at the professional level. It's worth noting that this list is not exhaustive, and there have been many other outstanding players who have made significant contributions to Big East baseball.

Who's Won The BIG EAST Conference Baseball Tournament?

Past winners include: 

  • St. John's9 (1985, 1986, 1988, 1993, 1997, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2018)
  • Notre Dame: 5 (2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006)
  • UConn: 5 (1990, 1994, 2013, 2021, 2022)
  • Seton Hall: 3 (1987, 2001, 2011)
  • Rutgers: 3 (1998, 2000, 2007)
  • Xavier: 3 (2014, 2016, 2017)
  • Louisville: 2 (2008, 2009)
  • Providence2 (1992, 1999)
  • Villanova: 2 (1989, 1991)
  • Creighton: 1 (2019)
  • Pittsburgh: 1 (1995)
  • West Virginia: 1 (1996)

The UConn Huskies have won 5 championship titles so far and are aiming for their 3rd consecutive win this year. 

BIG EAST Baseball Matchups Of The Week: UConn Still In Hunt For History

BIG EAST Baseball Games Of The Week: Creighton Taking Momentum To Minnesota

How Does The BIG EAST Baseball Tournament Work?

The BIG EAST Tournament format is double elimination. The top four teams from the regular season qualified for the tournament. Games will start at 2:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday and the BIG EAST Championship finals are scheduled for 2 p.m. on May 27, with a possible final game scheduled at 5:30 p.m. 

BIG EAST Baseball Tournament 2023 Schedule 

Here are the games: 

Wednesday, May 24

Thursday, May 25

Friday, May 26

Saturday, May 27

BIG EAST Baseball Standings

  • UConn 40-13 (15-5)        
  • Xavier 34-22 (14-7)        
  • Seton Hall 31-22 (13-8)        
  • Georgetown 29-25 (10-10)        
  • Creighton 25-24 (10-11)        
  • St. John's 28-25 (8-12)        
  • Villanova 14-37 (7-13)        
  • Butler 12-43 (5-16)        

BIG EAST Baseball Games Of The Week: Xavier Finally Gets To Play Host